Don Lemon:  “I Do It Because I Want To Stay Alive”


CNN Anchor Don Lemon expressed his reason on interacting with police officers. This was after events on the killing of two black men (Alton Sterling and Philando Constile) this past week.

During a discussion, he spoke on how he shouldn’t have to do it because he is a grown “you-know-what” man, which he’s pretty much saying he’s a grown ass man.

The discussion got really interesting along with other commentators and at one point, he had to get them together with the things he stated that we’re true.

He rung some bells and shook up the newsroom table by saying, “I do it because I want to stay alive; that’s why I do it. My white counterparts, they don’t do that. They speak to police officers in a way that I would never in a million years do, and that is the reality of it. I have to do that because I want to stay alive.”


By him saying this, he receives cool points from me because he  made a valid point and here is why. As you all can see in today’s society, a lot of white people get away with a lot of things such as crimes, court cases, any thing that’s dealing with the justice system. This is nothing new so please don’t act like that confetti-brained bitch named Stacy Dash. No shade but this is because the justice system is filled with mostly white people and are privileged to do any and everything they feel while black and other races suffer the consequences. This is one reason he says this. He must do what he has to do to abide by the law and stay out of trouble’s way. If Fetty Wap can see everything that’s going on with just one eye, then I know some of y’all can see it with both. 

“As accomplished as I am, and a man of color on television who is recognizable to many people, I have to do that because I don’t want to be shot and I don’t want to be killed,” Lemon stated. “And I am someone who is never in trouble.”


To translate what he’s saying to those who don’t understand or getting it twisted, he’s saying is he’s one of the good people everyone knows him to be. To keep from being targeted the “bad guy,” he must do the right thing by obeying the law and police officers. That’s just the way it works now if you don’t want to get shot and killed by the police.

No matter what a person is, how good they are to others, and how successful their life is, the police will target anyone and can do anything to someone to “protect” themselves if a person retaliates and then they’ll feel like they’re being harmed, threatened, or disobeying them. Don Lemon has pretty much hit the nail on this one and deserves a lot of respect for stating his honesty and concerns on this past week’s events. So this should put an absolute ending to some people’s thoughts that this man is being a coon even though he may not care to have said some things that pissed them off.

